DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Idol of Thoth
by Alex A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 18:49:30

The Idol of Thoth is the perfect scenario for new players. The focus of this scenario is on egyptology/mythos and detective work. There is little combat and the horror elements will need to be fleshed out by the keeper to make them truly scary. Aside from a few spelling errors, the book is presented beautifully with detailed maps of a few locations. In order to make this scenario run for five hours I needed to add afew of my own elements, Joe has left some parts sparse in order to encourage a little invention on the part of the keeper.

All in all, we had a lot of fun with this! Its an easy scenario to learn if you are new to running CoC and has many of the classic cthulhu locations and dynamics with a few excellent twists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alone Against the Flames
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 12:50:29

Really nice 'choose your own adventure' single-player RPG. Also, a good intro to the CoC gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against the Flames
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Zachary J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 11:20:58

I had the pleasure of being a player in this scenarion last week. It was absolutely superb(even though after reading through the scenario, we missed a TON). The pacing felt great and logical. The clues were easy enough to find, and there was even a fantastic revelation moment where our suspicions came true. I love playing this scenario and cannot wait to run it. A+ effort. Note: as others have stated, draw a map of the museum, it helps immensely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2018 15:50:09

The Idol of Thoth is one of the best, single session (6-10 hours) adventures I have ever had the pleasure to run. It has everything you would want to experience in a nearly perfect Call of Cthulhu night! Plenty of roleplaying-opportunities, a dense plot that keeps your players on the edge of their seats, cool and logical investigation - even the action and the mythos part satisfies on every level you can imagine! The writing is absolutely stellar, the box text (And I normally don't like the prewritten text of another GM for my table) builds up the strange, uncanny atmosphere that will lead your party of detectives from a seemingly simple case all the way down beyond the curtains of darkness! The author did go even further adding some awesome advice and tips onto the back of the book, which really helped me a lot in running the session! (Why is this so uncommon in most publications? I need more of that!)

It is easily enjoyable for new and experienced players alike. You can crank up the difficulty of the whole scenario as you and your players desire - even possibly on the fly.

The art fits the tone mostly, from awesome character portraits to usable (but somewhat lifeless) floorplans, it is filled with inspiring visuals. Oh, and the (!) fully detailed room-to-room map of the Arkham Asylum is worth the price of admission alone!

If you couldn't tell by now, we loved this adventure. For less than a few bucks, we got a night long to remember!

Thanks to Joe Trier and Stygian Fox!! I really hope, there is more to come from you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Andrzej R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 18:07:29

An excellent, short adventure with loads of classical Call of Cthulhu feel - just right for one longer session including an intense investigation, an Ancient Egyptian mystery and a race against time. I ran it for 3 players with beginner Investigators, their victory was hard-won and extremely satisfying for all of us.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NYNG Call of Cthulhu 7E [BUNDLE]
by Charles B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2018 06:11:22

Have only had time to skim the surface but the bundle deal seems well worth the price. The time period sampler is a nice touch, and having both rule books in a portable form is very cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NYNG Call of Cthulhu 7E [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HeroQuest: Dragon Pass Gazetteer
by A M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2018 15:15:02

Not a lot to say except where's the map? What's the point of a grid reference if their's no map to reference?

A fair number of the locations aren't represented in more up to date maps like the Argan Argar Maps so I can't even use that as a substitute.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HeroQuest: Dragon Pass Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
by Riccardo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2018 03:52:09

My personal favourite RPG system. Sanity system is a masterwork, character creation is intuitive and easy, combat is very good considering that this is an investigative game, a lot of examples and tables help both master and players get around. Also, your world, your history books, an article on a newspaper can be easy and effective inspiration for your adventures. (7 Ed is the first I played of CoC)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Repository 1920's Rogue Gallery Art Pack
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:58:50

I really injoyed the character art, I have long scowered the internet for just this sort of thing. It is much more fun to put faces to people that players run in to. I find it deepens the experiance for everyone playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository 1920's Rogue Gallery Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 10:52:32

The Idol of Thoth by Joe Trier (How We Roll Podcast) is an Excellent! single session scenario.

I think it could be easily adapted to any group and potentially inserted into an existing storyline or 'campaign'.

Beyond the well developed story (and npc's) the actual production and layout of the book is top quality.

You'd be hard pressed to find a better $4 value.

Highly Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
by Nick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 02:29:06

what a refreshing look at the mythos love this art - well worth the download. An excellent resource for CoC



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 01:58:34

Delightful work, really evocative of the mythos. I look forward to more from this artist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Benjamin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2018 13:19:57

Oh this is great - the ideal one-session scenario. A fairly famillar set up (which will help entice novice players) unfolds to a dramatic and novel conclusion that could easily be inserted into a longer campaign. I ran it for one player with an NPC accomplice but it would also work well with a larger group. The way the adventure is constructed means it's very easy to alter the threat level to match the player's abilities and experience. As mentioned in other reviews the scenario provides the opportunity to deliver just the right blend of investigation and action. The 'Keeper's Tips' section is particularly useful in this respect, and details how classic and pulp elements can be blended to suit individual tastes. If this is the standard we can come to expect from Joe Trier, and from the wider Miskantonic Repository, then we are all in for a treat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Tracy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2017 08:33:17

I'm very excited to run this scenario. It centers around a great mystery, has interesting NPCs, and will take investigators around Boston and to Miskatonic University. Trier has created a fun investigation for players AND provided an interesting story for Keepers. The notes for Keepers are great, especially for those new to running games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 17:04:25

A fantastic beginner scenario by a new writer Joe Trier from the How We Roll Podcast. Just the right blend of Pulp and investigation, perfect to ensnare new players or for use during a convention.

Detailed keeper notes to set the scene, complete with excellent descriptions for use during your game. Memorable NPCs, clear and concise maps & locations, easy to use layout.

Very happy with my purchase and can't wait to play with my group in the new year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 264 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates