DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Burial Plots
by Mattias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2018 06:16:57

Burial Plots is a compilation of 5 short adventures for the ChillMaster... sorry, CryptMaster, to inflict upon his/her gaming group. The 5 adventures are:

Condition critical; a lighthearted 10 page scenario. It takes place in a hospital where an experimental treatment to boost the white blood cells of patients has gone terribly wrong. The medical experiment has now colonised the hospital itself and decided to purge all foreign organisms infecting the building.

Unquenchable; a 9 page wilderness adventure where the PC:s join a search party to look for three missing deer hunters. Of course, the forest is full of both small ticks and larger bloodsuckers....

Death in the Dust; an 11 page adventure where the PC:s are sent to investigate an Old West boomtown near a long since caved-in mine.

Forget-me-not; a 9 page adventure in which a copycat killer after 40 years picks up where the previous axe murderer left off.

It came upon a midnight clear; a 5 page adventure set at gaudily decorated farm house during Christmas Eve beset by a spirit of the season.

No adventure should take more than 3 hours to run, and they come complete with maps, room descriptions and monster stats. The preparations are minimal, but if I should offer any criticism, it's that the investigative skills aren't widely used. The mere presence of maps also hints at a more tactical combat approach where the Envoys make steady progress from one grid onto the next. I've always found it more useful in Horror to disorient and blur the PC:s sense of direction once they enter the haunted houses and woods. Also, the NPC:s in Burial Plots could have been made out more quirky to encourage roleplaying and player suspicioins (always think Twin Peaks when you design victims, witnesses and law enforcement officers).

Nonetheless, Burial Plots is a well-crafted compilation. It's also great to see that Pacesetter is once more publishing proper scenarios these days to Chill... sorry, CryptWorld. It was Pacesetter's scenarios that hooked me to Chill back in the 80's, and free pdf:s simply won't suffice. These days I fear that the lack of proper scenarios will likely push modern horror gamers away from the Chill INSTANT ADVENTURE system towards the competing brands (Delta Green/ Cthulhu BRP, EsoTerrorists GUMSHOE and Hunter: the Vigil STORYTELLING). A full length campaign would work wonders to provide Chill/CryptWorld players with a common frame of reference.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Burial Plots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apes Victorious
by Forest R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2017 11:21:04

Once again Goblinoid Games serves up top notch old school quality. Ilike this game for it's versitility and adaptbility. The group that I ran this for is begging me to run at conventions in 2018. I suspect this will happen as I am a big fan of the original Planet of the Apes series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GORE
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2017 12:34:08

For my purposes this is an excellent distillation of the early d100/BRP system and specifically Call of Cthulhu. It's clean and clearly written with capable illustrations establishing that it is primarily aimed at horror gaming, specifically of the Lovecraftian bent. My understanding is that it exists mainly as a platform for further game development, free of the concerns a license might bring. At this point it seems to have been nearly abandoned, but I have hope. Seeing as CoC 7e has changed the game somewhat, and not necessarily in a direction that suits all tastes, I hope someone will hit on using GORE to produce some good Lovecraftian horror that avoids some of the CoC-isms. Turn from pulp-action toward darker realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowbrook Manor
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:09:06

While I enjoy the premise, I am not a big fan of silliness / hoke. I would have liked to have known that there is such a high comic factor to this module including constant references to humourous movies.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Stefan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 09:35:02

The Best B/X clone by far. Very well written and easy to use. Which it would get more support though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cryptworld
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 14:16:26

Why I do not like the game is because they didn't fix the key problem that old Chill had. Numbers often exceeded 100 in this percentile driven game. Basically you never miss or fail a skill roll unless the CM puts a difficulty on what you are doing. This makes more experienced players hindered because they are more experienced. The whole sequence of combat was something nobody did, is outdated, and should've been redone. This really feels like the intention was to just copy the old game and put it out as something revised.

I loved Chill and wanted to love this but nothing was improved and everything taken out was missed. Basically 2nd edition will do just fine.

Positive note: Nice getting the artist from the original Chill to do this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apes Victorious
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 16:09:04

I did a more in-depth review on my blog but here's the condensed version: Apes Victorious does exactly what it sets out to do, which is to create an OSR Planet of The Apes rpg. However it doesn't go beyond that goal to do anything interesting in either a mechanical or narrative sense. The final product isn't bad by any measure but on the other hand it isn't great either. It's just there.

The in-depth review is at http://buzzclaw.blogspot.com/2016/12/review-apes-victorious.html



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apes Victorious
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 20:52:26

Mr. Proctor delivers the goods. It really is that simple. We are provided everything we need to play on a world ruled by apes with a clean and concise delivery. Better reviewers than myself will break down the intricacies of play if that is what you need to make a purchase decision. The only shortfall may be actually how clean this product is, really just a handfull of illustrations. But we must realize that pictures are just candy coating to actual content. If you want to play in a world of apes within the context of the OSR this IS the product. Now, take your stinking paws off me you damn dirty ape!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
by Tamas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2016 13:24:06

(This is the conclusion of a review of the PDF version)

I can say that Apes Victorious definitely lived up to my expectations! It has everything I wanted to see in it, it all seems practical and highly usable; a stand-alone niche game for people who love Planet of the Apes. And I think it has the potential to appeal to non-die-hard fans as well.

The writing is top-notch. Brief, to the point, yet personal. Formatting and layout is clean and readable. There aren't many illustrations (maybe 15 pictures for 120 pages?), all done by Mark Allen. This isn't eye candy... but it's easy on the eye. I think the book could have taken more pictures, and maybe included other artist (not that I have any problem with Allen's style - and it's a good fit for the theme). But it's a conscious laconic approach.

Read the whole review here: eldritchfields.blogspot.com/2016/10/apes-victorious-reviewoverview.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:37:10

64 pages, black & white interior, color cover. This is a monster book. For use with Cryptworld, but also compatible with Majus, Rotworld and yes even Timemaster and 1st ed Chill. There are so many good and new monsters here that it is worth it just for this alone. Really, there are such great things as the Mongolian Death Worm, the Batsquatch and plenty of old favorites. The book is more than just monsters. There are plenty of great ideas on how to play and use these monsters in your game. These sections are great for nearly any modern horror or urban fantasy game. I rank it right up there with "Chill Things" in terms of utility for my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Majus
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:18:31

100 pages, black & white interior, color cover.

Author: Michael Curtis

Majus came out before Cryptworld and after Rotworld. It uses the same Pacesetter system that all three games share with Time Master and 1st Edition Chill. Majus though takes a different path and gives us a world of mages, magicians and high magic. So in sense, everything I have always wanted in my own Chill games. Like Cryptworld and Rotworld, the Pacesetter system is revised here to be quite easy to use.
What seperates Majus from the Cryptworld is not just the magic the characaters can now wield, but also the tone. This is described as "Magic Noir" so think hardboilded detective stories mixed with a global magic conspiracy. Whether you want to use this or not is upto the individual CM (in this case "Cabal Master") but I think you would be missing out on a really great feature of the game.
This game can also provide new background, magic and ideas for your Cryptworld games as well. The monsters in this game are largely a different sort that what is found in Cryptworld, so buying both games will give you extra monsters and features. There is some overlap, but that is mostly system related material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Majus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cryptworld
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:09:46

90 pages, black & white interior, color cover. Authors: Daniel Proctor and +Tim Snider. Cryptworld is the spiritual and brand successor to the first edition Chill game. In many ways it represents what Chill could have become if it had not gone down the path of 2nd Edition and Mayfair games. The Jim Holloway cover is very much in line with the original Chill boxed set. In truth it is less "iconic" but I like it better. The rules for the game are distilled down to their very essence. This is for all purposes a "retro-clone" of Chill. But it is more than that too. Where Chill 2 was about fighting all sorts of creatures organized into the Unknown and Chill 3 is a modern monster hunting tale of SAVE; Cryptworld takes it back to basics of humankind versus the monsters. This Kolchak the Night Stalker, Tales from the Crypt, Friday the 13th (TV Series), and all the wonderful tales of monsters and horror from the 80s. Character creation is faster than I recall it being in Chill 1 or 2. There are still plenty of options to create anytime of character you might want. Like all versions of Chill you are not going to make Harry Dresden style characters (that's for Majus), but making the Winchesters is easy. Goblinoid Games did not get the rights to SAVE, but that is fine really. There is a section in the book covering other organizations that characters can belong too and all are worthy replacements for SAVE. In particular, I want to run a game where all the characters are reporters for the Weekly Inquisitor. That would be a blast really. There are plenty of monsters, especially all the old favorites. There is also not a lot of duplication of monsters from other products so that is a nice value add.
There is also a great section on running games for the "Crypt Master" or CM. One of my favorite names for a Game Master ever. Crypt Master is not just a spiritual successor to Chill, it is a worthy one. If you have any materials from 1st or 2nd edition of Chill you will find them largely compatible with this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Darkest Before the Dawn
by Stephen R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 22:28:53

This review is not on the content so much as the formatting. Unpleasant, cramped text in wide columns makes this adventure difficult to actually read. The publisher should reformat it with a cleaner modern font, or — at minimum — narrower columns as with the free Red Ace High adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darkest Before the Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the feedback Stephen! I do plan to reformat this module, and when I do I\'ll send a notification so you can download the updated version.
Rotworld
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:40:14

Like Zombies in Movies or TV Shows? Then this is a must have in my opinion. Rotworld gives you all the information you need to start a 'Zombie Apocalypse' campaign. Causes of the outbreak, the breakdown of society, pre & post hierarchy, even some maps of useful locations. Rotworld uses the same Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system that covers Cryptworld, Timemaster & Majus, allowing you a vast array of source material. Its a great book on its own, add any or all of the other titles & just about any campaign, from any time, can be built.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:22:24

As a fan of Chill first edition by Pacesetter all those years ago I was over the moon when I found out they were back with Cryptworld. While Cryptworld was available to buy in the U.K. Monsters Macabre was not, then I discovered DriveThru RPG & possibilities became endless. Monsters Macabre is a great addition to the Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system, the added 'Things', variable damage system, much better than the 'stock style' combat in my opinion, rules for 'Thing' PC's & a scenario thrown in for good measure make this a must for Cryptworld & the others games in this vein. On a final note, I found it cheaper to download the PDF file from DriveThru RPG & get it printed, than buying the original, I'll definitely be buying more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 139 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates